2015 Core Values Awards Winners
Share |


2015 Core Values Winners Circle

IAP2  announces international Core Values Awards in Perth, Australia

2015 Core Values Awards Showcase of Winners

(Perth, Australia) – At the IAP2 Australasia Core Value Awards Gala in Perth, Australia, the International Association for Public Participation (IAP2) announced the 2015 International Core Values Awards honoring award winners from around the world.

IAP2 Federation Presiding Member, Ms. Noreen Rude congratulates the winners on behalf of the Board of Directors and national affiliates. “IAP2’s seven Core Values go to the very heart of our association and guide how we think about and practice authentic public participation. The laureates of the 2015 awards represent best practice in our field, and serve as model of excellence for others to emulate.” Finalists for the “best of the best” international award were gathered from entries submitted by national affiliates in Australasia, Canada, Southern Africa and the United States. Winners recognized this year include:

Project of the Year

People with Disability were honored for their entry, “Citizens Jury for the National Disability Insurance Scheme.

In 2013, the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) was created through the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 and its coordinating agency the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) established.While there were many reviews of the scheme the voice of people with disability was absent in key places. People with Disability Australia (PWDA) proposed to the NDIA, a Citizens’ Jury as an appropriate way to develop a grassroots scorecard on the NDIS which allowed ordinary people paying for the NDIS to deliver a verdict based on direct personal witness from people in the trial sites.

Organisation of the Year

IAP2 International Organisation Award winner St. Vrain Valley Schools (Longwood, CO, USA) were recognized for their entry entitled, “Embracing Public Participation: A whole systems approach to organizational change”.

Saint Vrain Valley Schools, Colorado’s 7th largest school district, serves over 32,000 students in 53 schools across eight municipalities in Colorado’s Front Range region. In 2008, an 8-year plan was created to combat the severe issues caused by decades of budgets cuts, unfunded reform laws, and a growing population in need of assistance. The goal was to establish a sustainable culture of public participation within the district while overcoming both internal and external resistance.

Video Presentation

In addition, finalists for the International Core Values awards as presented by IAP2 national affiliates in the following categories include:

Organisation of the Year 2015

  • IAP2 Australasia Winner – North East Water
  • IAP2 Canada Winner – City of Victoria, Foundations for Success
  • IAP2 Canada Honourable – City of Vancouver, Engaged City

Research Award 2015

  • IAP2 Australasia Winner – Auckland University, The Ministry of Public Input
  • IAP2 Southern Africa Winner – SRK Consulting, the World Resources Institute and Finley Greenberg Inc., Initiating Stakeholder Engagement Plans for Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) Deployment in South Africa

Project of the Year 2015

  • IAP2 Australasia Runner Up – Logan City Council, Logan Planning Scheme
  • IAP2 Canada Winner – Beringia and Pikangikum Health Authority, Working It Out Together: Pikangkum First Nation's Healing Journey for Comprehensive Community Health
  • IAP2 USA Winner – Metro, Portland, Powell-Division Transit and Development Project

“We are delighted with the response to the 2015 IAP2 Core Values Awards competition from public participation practitioners all over the world. This is a testament to the huge growth of our field of expertise”.  More information about all these winners and finalists can be found in the 2015 Core Values Awards Showcase on IAP2.org.

Special thanks are extended to the international jury members, Ms. Noreen Rude, IAP2 Federation Presiding Member and Jury Co-Convener (Canada), Mr. David Hovde, IAP2 Federation Board Member and Jury Co-Convener (USA), Mr. Simon Denegri, Involve (UK), Mr. Timothy Hart, SRK Consulting (South Africa) and Mr. Tyrone Reitman, Healthy Democracy (USA), as well as all the members of the judging panels for the IAP2 Affiliate Awards programs. On behalf of IAP2 you have our sincere thanks for your commitment and dedication to advancing and promoting international best practice in the field of public participation.


IAP2 has 501(3)(c) charity status in USA and is able to receive donations from within the USA.

Federation of International Association of Public Participation
PO Box 270723, Louisville, CO 80027 USA